The Story of Midnite

My mom has had several cats over the years. Sadly, the majority of them would end up disappearing due to them being “outdoor only” cats; But there was one who didn’t. Her name was Midnite.

They crossed paths one day when my mom was going to school. A boy was a going to give Midnite to another classmate, however, the classmate changed their mind. So the boy decided, being the absolute jerk that he was, to throw her over a nearby fence instead! I’ll never understand how someone could be so mean. Fortunately, having seen what he was about to do, my mom stepped in and said she would adopt the kitten. 

Midnite grew up to be a scrawny little cat. Although, she was small, she was also very intelligent and every cat around learned not to mess with her. Being completely covered in black fur, you’d probably be anxious if you believed in old wives’ tales. I don’t  know what her eye color was, but I like to imagine that they were a vibrant green.

She wasn’t very fond of company and appreciated her alone time. Mom attempted to keep her indoors from time to time, but Midnite would always bolt out the door eventually. When she set her mind to something, you couldn’t stop her. Midnite would always leave “gifts” ouside of the front door. Gifts in the form of dead rodents. That must have been so sad and so, so gross.

Midnite passed away when I was still very young, so I honestly can’t remember her. But I know I’ll never forget the stories about the adventures my mom and her shared.

I feel stupid. As I was writing this, I accidentally clicked ‘post’ instead of ‘preview.’ For those who are following me, I’m sorry.

​Music by Kevin MacLeod.  Art by me.

Leave a Reply

